user Create your account


mail Sign in with email


Michigan becomes 37th state in 2015 to file Convention of States Article V application

Michigan Representative Lee Chatfield (107), along with Representatives Aaron Miller (59), Ray Franz (101), Joel Johnson (97), Thomas Hooker (77) and Bruce Rendon (103), filed HJR BB last week to make Michigan the 37th state in the nation in 2015 to file an identical resolution calling for an Article V Convention of States to restrain the power, scope, and jurisdiction of the federal government.

“Today in Michigan six courageous state legislators stepped up for liberty in an effort to galvanize citizens and sister-states who understand the Constitution gives states the authority to limit the federal government,” said Mark Meckler, co-founder of the Convention of States Project and former founder of the Tea Party Patriots. “Michigan is poised to be the fifth state to pass this resolution—the only solution to federal overreach: an Article V Convention of States, called for the purpose of proposing a complete package of constitutional amendments to tackle some of America’s biggest challenges.”

The resolution has a three-point subject matter calling for fiscal restraint, limiting the size, scope and jurisdiction of the federal government and term limits for federal officials.

Speaking at a December 2014 event for the Convention of States Project, radio talk show host Mark Levin told legislators, “they are the last line of defense for liberty.”

The Convention of States movement and education of Article V has spread to 37 state legislatures this year considering the resolution, with more citizens and state legislators understanding the authority granted to the states by the Constitution than ever before.

HJR BB has five additional co-sponsors in the House: Aaron Miller (59), Ray Franz (101), Joel Johnson (97), Thomas Hooker (77),and Bruce Rendon (103).

About the Convention of States Project

The Convention of States Project is currently organized in all 50 states, including hundreds of thousands of volunteers, supporters and advocates committed to stopping the federal government’s abuse of power. Alaska, Florida, Georgia, and Alabama have passed our Article V resolution since the project launched in 2013. History was made in 2015, with 37 states filing identical resolutions. For more information visit